MIT Sloan Executive Education innovation@work Blog

Coveted teaching awards presented to MIT Sloan faculty

As well-respected experts throughout the world, MIT Sloan faculty are certainly used to getting awards and accolades for their achievements. However, many will admit that among the most coveted are the MIT Sloan Excellence in Teaching Awards, given to honor educational innovation and excellence.

This year, the 2016-2017 Jamieson Prize for Excellence in Teaching was presented to Sinan Aral, the David Austin Professor of Management and a Professor of Information Technology and Marketing at MIT Sloan School of Management. Aral teaches in the popular Digital Marketing and Social Media Analytics program at MIT Sloan executive Education. His research focuses on social contagion, product virality and measuring, and managing how information diffusion in massive social networks such as Twitter and Facebook affects information worker productivity, consumer demand, and viral marketing.

Funded by MIT Alumnus J. Burgess Jamieson, SB '52, and his wife, Libby J. Burgess, the Jamieson Prize was established in 2006 to honor faculty contributions to educational innovation and excellence. Simon Johnson, the Ronald A. Kurtz (1954) Professor of Entrepreneurship at the School, also received the Jamieson Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

In addition to the Jamieson Prize, awards were given for the year's best teachers and instructors at the recent event. Georgia Perakis, the William F. Pounds Professor of Management and a Professor of Operations Research and Operations Management at the MIT Sloan School of Management, was named the Sloan School Teacher of the Year. Perakis teaches courses on optimization, quantitative models for managers, analysis of transportation systems, dynamic pricing, and revenue management. Catherine (Cat) Turco, Theodore T. Miller Career Development Professor and Associate Professor of Work and Organization Studies, and Dimitris Bertsimas, Boeing Leaders for Global Operations Professor of Management and Professor and Co-Director of the Operations Research Center, each received an Outstanding Teacher Award. Bradley Sturt, PhD candidate in Operations Research (TA for Data, Models, and Decisions), won the Outstanding TA Award.

Ezra Zuckerman Sivan, Deputy Dean of MIT Sloan School of Management, offered congratulations to all the winners at ceremonies held on the MIT campus, and thanked them for exemplifying the dedication to pedagogical excellence that is so central to the mission at MIT Sloan.

This entry was posted in About Exec Ed on Sun Jun 04, 2017 by MIT Sloan Executive Education


innovation@work Blog

At MIT Sloan Executive Education, our portfolio of non-degree programs reflect MIT Sloan's core mission—to develop principled, innovative leaders and to generate ideas that advance management practice. Subscribe to our blog to stay up-to-date on hot business topics, faculty research and news, world events, participant insights, and much more!

Subscribe to Blog by Email

Search innovation@work Blog

Interested in writing a guest post?

Cutting-edge research and business insights presented by MIT Sloan faculty.

Media Gallery

Visit the Media Gallery to view videos and read articles and blog posts written by MIT Sloan Executive Education faculty and staff.